Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

pride and prejudice

4/5 stars

Recommended for: lovers of romance, classics, and the frivolous antics of the upper class

Review:

I picked this up because I came into possession of a board game that required knowledge of this novel to play, and I am glad I read this. It is a classic for a reason. After adjusting to the difficult language and wording, you’ll not be disappointed with the wit and romance that this novel possesses. I feel like I took this book exactly like everyone else. I found Mrs. Bennett ridiculous, I longed for Jane to be happy, and I shipped Mr. Darcy (who has the unfortunate first name ‘Fitzwilliam’) and Elizabeth with the best of them, and Lydia made me appropriately angry with her antics. It’s weird to think that these girls are not that different age-wise from me, but I suppose it was another time. Overall, I’d highly reccomend this for a timeless love story and comedy of manners.

Leave a Reply

