A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), by George R.R. Martin

got

5/5 stars

Recommended for: high fantasy lovers, people who have the time for the never-ending epic saga, and people who like dragons (me)

Review:

This was so good, and I know it’s so good because I don’t feel like I wasted 800 pages of my life. This is one of the most notorious series, and this was proven to me when my aunt observed me reading GoT and asked if I was attched to any characters. When I responded I was becoming attached, she told me to stop reading the books.

All men must die.

I love the concept of a fantasy world with old gods and new gods, and all of the warring dynasties struggling for a throne that shouldn’t exist. It’s called the seven kingdoms for a reason. I wouldn’t call this romance, but the action was very good. I didn’t guess the main reveal of this book, even though as soon it was revealed it was obivous to me. It just didn’t enter my sphere of thought. A+ writing. The characters were all complex and very interesting, and the worldbuilding was fantastic.

The spoilers, since I can’t contain my emotions.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SPOILERS!SPOILERS!SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Poor Ned Stark didn’t deserve to die, especially since now no one knows about the fact that Joffrey isn’t even Robert’s heir. Death to Joffrey. I don’t know who I want to win the Iron Throne, Daenerys or Robb. I feel like Dany wouldn’t actually want to rule, but I feel like Robb would let the job suck the life out of him, and despite the fact that he captured the Kingslayer, he’s stil pretty green. On Khal Drogo, I feel bad that he died, and especially bad that Rhaego had to be warped into some alien (the only truly bizarre part of this book to me) before Daenerys would let him go was too bad. I knew Rhaego would never make it, but…

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SPOILERS!SPOILERS!SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am very ready to see some dragon action. Speaking of the dragon (or non-dragon), Viserys. He was awful and cruel. Frankly, he was just plain dumb as well to threaten Daenerys so publicly. Always take Ser Jorah’s advice. His “coronation” was a delightfully horrid play on words, but I can’t say I’m surprised. I found all of the Dothraki culture delightfully horrid, when I think about it.

Let’s talk Jon Snow.

I’m very ready for a triumvirate of Jon, Arya Stark, and Tyrion Lannister [who may be the most quotable person to ever exist. He’s a gold mine (pun not intended, but approved)]. They could take over everything. Jon quickly became one of my favorite charcaters for hsi non-nonsense attitude and for his valor. He was brave and seldom let himself be too hasty in anything. Except when Ser Alliser was involved, but that’s something else.

My quick opinions on the Starks (excluding Jon Snow), who all-around get a pat on the back for the direwolves. Such a good choice
Ned- very good person, very wise. Should have listened to Catelyn way earlier than he did, but at least he knew that in retrospect
Catelyn- she might be the best literary mom ever, except when it came to Bran, although I never like people who severely favor one child. It seemed out of character that she’d hate Jon so much
Robb- he seems like he’ll be as great as his father, but I can’t shake a sense of foreboding when it comes to him
Sansa- I’m willing to write her behavior off as being the behavior of a petulant child, but Sansa is wholly ridiculous and foolish. The end of the novel promises a new, tougher Sansa. I will reevauluate her character later
Arya- I like her a lot, especially with Syrio. I agree with Catelyn, she ought to make a better efoort at refinement for her own sake, but she is very brave and her relationship with Jon is the best
Bran- I feel bad for the kid, and I hope he remembers what he forgot. he and Hodor have a great dynamic, and I think Osha will be a good ally for him
Rickon- there is not much to say, but by the end of the book I felt like he was taking on Robert Arryn/Joffrey status

If we learn anything from Robert Arryn and Joffrey, it’s that any spoiled boy given any sort of power will abuse it sadistically. I still believe that if you could get Robert away from Lysa (who might actually be the most unpleasant character other than Gregor Clegane), you could fix him. Nonetheless, I’ll be staying away from him

Noblemen I liked: Varys (why? I don’t know), the Greatjon, the Hound, the Knight of Flowers
Noblemen I didn’t like: the Mountain, Ser Alliser, I’m going to go ahead and add Lysa because seriously she’s bonkers
Noblemen I’m not sure about: BAELISH?!?!?!?!?!

The moral of this book is that if everyone hates the Lannisters and fears them simultaneously, deal with them before they deal with you.

Dude, dragons.

One thought on “A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), by George R.R. Martin

Leave a Reply

